2 Stars · Adult · Advanced Readers Copy Reviews · Book Reviews · Contemporary · Genres · Net Gallery · O-P · Romance · Star Ratings

Love at First Like by Hannah Orenstein

Read from December 9th, 2019 to March 2nd, 2020

Star Rating: 2/5


DISCLAIMER: I would like to thank Atria Books and Net Gallery for the free kindle ARC in exchange for an honest review. 


It is amazing how social media has become such a large part of our lives. To be honest, it is a bit frightful, but also thrilling. People can promote their brands and small businesses so much easier, and there are people out there earning money for their hobbies. It is insane. So I really liked how this book dived into how important social media is in our lives; while also pointing out how radical it is.

Love at First Like follows business entrepreneur Eliza Roth in her endeavor to correct, but not fix, a misinterpretation about an Instagram post she had posted with a ring on her finger. It is an interesting concept, and shows how quickly people are swept into social media, and how they go to extremes to save their reputation and spotlight. In order for Eliza to save her image and the business she runs with her sister, she must find a guy to marry her in a very short time frame.

tenor

I really liked the concept, but I wasn’t a big fan on the presentation.

I had a few problems with some of the plot holes, and because of that, I did feel like I was let down. I loved the idea of Eliza finding someone and seeing them slowly fall in love- at least, I was hopeful for that. However, I saw how everything was going to pan out early on in the book. Of course, I won’t spoil anything- that belongs in the spoiler section of course, so moving on.

I really did like Eliza in the beginning; she was feisty, independent, brave, etc. Yet, while the story went on, I felt like she was just putting up a facade and everyone I once thought she was was actually wrong. She kept digging a hole for herself every chapter, and while I get that was important to the book, it surpassed realism. There really isn’t much I can say without spoiling things, but I really started to dislike her character and her motives. I also wasn’t a big fan on Eliza’s sister, Sophie. I felt like she was a bit selfish when it came to the business and how to handle it with her personal life. I felt like Sophie didn’t realize like that a businesses finances weren’t personal ones and she had me screaming at my kindle due to this.

johnny-depp-face-of-disgust-reaction-gif

I feel like Orenstein had a really good plot going on, and it is probably just me who wasn’t a big fan on particular characters. To me, a bad character can really mess up a great plot, and I feel like this is what happened in this instance.


Synopsis

Eliza Roth and her sister Sophie co-own a jewelry shop in Brooklyn. One night, after learning of an ex’s engagement, Eliza accidentally posts a photo of herself wearing a diamond ring on that finger to her Instagram account beloved by 100,000 followers. Sales skyrocket, press rolls in, and Eliza learns that her personal life is good for business. So she has a choice: continue the ruse or clear up the misunderstanding. With mounting financial pressure, Eliza sets off to find a fake fiancé.

Fellow entrepreneur Blake seems like the perfect match on paper. And in real life he shows promise, too. He would be perfect, if only Eliza didn’t feel also drawn to someone else. But Blake doesn’t know Eliza is “engaged”; Sophie asks Eliza for an impossible sum of money; and Eliza’s lies start to spiral out of control. She can either stay engaged online or fall in love in real life.

SPOILERS BELOW


I guess this section is going to be a bit of a rant because was I the only one who realized quite a few plot holes in the story?

1. Eliza had gotten several interviews about her wedding, which is awesome publicity for the business. Therefore, for there to be people who want to know more about her makes her a hot shot to begin with in the industry, wouldn’t you say? However, you want to tell me that Blake, someone in the jewelry business, has never heard nor read up on Eliza? Okay, cool if he hadn’t done it before they got together, but wouldn’t you be interested in your significant other’s business? Not in a stalker sort of way, but just to be supportive that you know about your SO’s business. Even if you’re not like that, fine; but even after Eliza tells him she is pretty big on Instagram, you’re telling me he wouldn’t want to at least download insta to see all the photos she posts? Maybe I’m weird and think that should be normal, but I just see it as being a supportive partner. He, personally, was showing me lack of interest with Eliza and her life.

2. On the lines of social media, why was Eliza hell bent on having Jess say she was the girl posing on Instagram if Blake did check? Sweetie, you already publicly announced it was YOU on the account! I didn’t dream this right? She did admit it, so how is Jess saying it was her going to help anything? Not only did you lie but now you’re a mega liar.

tumblr_inline_oijuinvlzi1qietwz_500

3.  Sophie. Sophie. Sophie. I get it. You want a child, but you’re willing to bankrupt your business- and put your sister on the street? I really didn’t like you. You were really selfish because Eliza was trying to help you and she explained how the business would be in even worse shape than before if she gave you the money for IVF.

I hated how Sophie was acting like the business was her only personal bank account, and it really wasn’t fair for her to put Eliza in that position because Eliza was already going through cleaning up her own mess when Sophie did this. Way to kick a woman when she is down.

4. Raj. To be honest, I don’t know how I felt about that development. I knew it was going to happen because Blake and Eliza moved too fast and it would’ve wrapped up too nicely. I did feel like it happened out of nowhere though because while Raj was around, he wasn’t given much book time at all to establish a concrete relationship between him and Eliza. In fact, I didn’t even feel like rooting for them and that upset me. I was like Oh okay. Do your thing. I don’t care. 

5. Was I the only one confused with the wedding? Everyone, for the most part, thought it was legit, so what is going to happen if Raj and Eliza do get married? Are they just going to pass it off as the Indian themed wedding? Like, you know when people redo their vows, are they going to do it like that? Also, what the heck were Raj’s parents reaction because it felt like they thought it was legit and I really feel like that wouldn’t go down with most families for you to marry someone they never even met nor mentioned to the family? I may be thinking too much into this but I am just so curious.

So yeah, those were just five things I wasn’t a huge fan of, and I’m not trying to be mean. I did enjoy the concept of the plot and I feel like it would’ve been wonderful… yet the characters killed it for me.


Question Time:

  1. Did you feel like Raj didn’t get enough book time to establish a relationship between him and Eliza?
  2. How did you feel about the characters? Any favorites? Any dislikes?
  3. Can anyone explain to me how they’re going to have a second wedding down the road- if they do have one? Are they going to have an Indian wedding and it will be treated like repeating your vows?

Leave a comment